Skip to main content

English 9 Choice Research Project: Database tips and tricks

Finding pre-made citations

There are two places to look for pre-made citations in databases.

  1. At the end of the article
  2. Using the database's citation generator

To find a citation generator, scan the article page for icons. Scroll over the icons to see what they do. One will say "Cite" or "Citation Tool." Click on it and follow directions. You will probably be using MSLA 8 (or 7).

Copy and paste pre-made citations into your Noodletools project by choosing the "quick cite" option.

Creating an advanced search

Look for a button or hyperlink that says "Advanced Search." This will take you to a page that has lots of blanks you can fill in. Play around with all of the options and see how targeted you can get your search. 

Saving articles to read later

Databases will often give you three ways to save articles:

  1. Create a personal account that saves your sources. I don't recommend this because you might forget which databases you've used.
  2. Save articles to your Google Drive in a folder with the same name as the database.
    • To do either of these things, scan the article's page to find "create account" or "send to Google drive" and follow directions. 
  3. Give you a "permalink" to the article that you save elsewhere. Sometimes the URL in the search box at the top of the page is temporary. It may work for a few days, but eventually it will break. This always happens in Gale.
    • The permalink is found in the citation generated by the database, or in the citation at the end of the article. 

Noodletools automatically links to the articles if you create an accurate citation or copy and paste the citation the database gives you.

Finding and using handy databases tools

Scan database pages for sections marked"Tools" or look for icons. Look at the top of the page, in the left and right hand columns, and at the bottom of the page. Scroll over icons to see what they do. Click on highlighted text to see where it brings you. Databases can offer:

  • Text to speech 
  • Highlighting and notetaking options
  • Download article as a PDF
  • Descriptions of the purpose of the publication