Skip to main content

ELL Research Guide

Suggested websites and research strategies for ELL students

Research Vocabulary

Database
Collections of trusted (authoritative) articles for academic research. Weston High School pays for many excellent databases you can use for research.
Hint: databases make citations for you. Just copy and paste!!!

 

Article
A short piece in a magazine, journal (an academic magazine), book, or website. Notice the title of the article you're reading.

 

Encyclopedia
A collection of articles on a wide range of topics. Our encyclopedias are Britannica and Grolier.

 

Evaluate (analyze)
Answer questions to decide if a piece of information (an article or a website, etc.) is good for academic research. We teach students to use the C.R.A.P. analysis (evaluation). We don't require you to do a CRAP analysis on every piece of information you use. We do ask that you ask yourself these questions when deciding to use an article or website for your research paper.
C=Currency      When was the article written?
                          Is it outdated (too old to use)?
                          It is current (recent enough that information is good)?
R=Relevance    Does the article answer your question?  
                          Is it a good reading level for you?
A=Authority       Why do you trust the author?
                          Who is the author?

                          Why did the author write it?
P=Purpose        Why was the article written?
                          For whom is the article written?

 

Citation (cite)
A note with information about the publisher, author, title, year of publication, and sometimes URL of a book, article or website you used while researching your paper.
The action of making a citation is "to cite" (you cite an article.) Think of a citation as an address for a book, article or website. The information in your citation lets your reader do two things: find the resource and decide if they trust it.

 

Bibliography (biblio = book   graphy = writing) or "works cited"
A list of citations of all the articles, books and websites you used for a paper.