May/June WHS Library News 2025 by Weston School Libraries (HS/MS)
04/09/2025
Jennifer Barry
No Subjects
April WHS Library News 2025 by westonhighschoollibrary
This month, the library is promoting kindness, curiosity, and of course—great reading!
The Pillar of Kindness: Share the Love!
We invite anyone to contribute to our Pillar of Kindness by writing a kind note on a heart and adding it to the display. Whether it’s a thank-you, a shout-out to a friend, or a positive message to brighten someone’s day, every note helps build a stronger, more supportive school community. Stop by and add your heart today!
February “To-Due” List Raffle
Looking for a fun way to get involved in the library this month? Check out our February To-Due List! Complete activities like:
✔️ Going on a Blind Date with a Book
✔️ Adding a heart to the Pillar of Kindness
✔️ Writing a book review
✔️ Learning a fact for Black History Month
Each completed activity earns you a raffle entry for a chance to win a Wildcats plushie or a Weston winter hat.
Black History Month: Learn & Share
February is Black History Month, and we invite everyone—students and teachers alike—to engage in learning and reflection. Stop by the library to browse our book display, highlighting the voices and stories that have shaped history.
📢 Teachers & students: We’d love to have your contributions to our mentimeter! Share an interesting fact you’ve learned about a historical figure or event using the QR code in the library. We’ll showcase these facts throughout the month.
Blind Date with a Book: No Judging by Covers!
Not all blind dates end in disaster—especially when they’re with books! Wrapped by our fantastic student volunteers, these surprise books come with only a few hints about their contents. Pick one up and maybe you’ll discover a new favorite. After you’ve read it, let the library know what you thought about your “date” by filling out this form.
Have a Great February
No matter how you participate, we hope you find something to love in the library this month. And remember, if you need help with a research project, finding sources, or just figuring out where to start, we are always happy to help.
See you in the library!
— Mrs. Barry & Ms. Lockwell
01/14/2025
Jennifer Barry
No Subjects
We’re thrilled to start 2025 with opportunities for students, staff, and families. Read on to learn about a bookmark contest, January holidays, and some great winter reads.
Massachusetts School Library Association (MSLA) Bookmark Contest: Find Your Path in the Library
The MSLA Bookmark Contest is here, and this year’s theme is "Find Your Path in the Library." This is a wonderful opportunity to celebrate your school library program by designing a bookmark showing activities, lessons, resources, and/or experiences your school library and librarian provide that show how you find your path in the library.
Here are some ideas to help you think about what to include in your bookmark:
- Think about the things that are important to you in the library.
- Think about one of your favorite experiences in the library.
- Think about your favorite book, genre, or character that has helped you learn something new.
Deadline: All entries are due to Mrs. Barry or Ms. Lockwell by Tuesday, January 21st.
Submission Details: Visit the contest page for more information: MSLA Bookmark Contest.
WINNERS! Winners will be announced at the MSLA Conference in March.
Contest prizes include:
- Bookstore gift card ($50 for 1st place, $25 for honorable mention)
- Invitation to an in-person Awards Ceremony (details to follow)
- Certificate, enlargement, and reproductions (50 for 1st place, 25 for honorable mention) of winning bookmark designs
Good luck and have fun!
January Holidays
Celebrating Martin Luther King Jr. Day
As we approach Martin Luther King Jr. Day on January 20, the library is featuring a special collection of books highlighting Dr. King’s legacy and the Civil Rights Movement. Stop by to explore powerful stories that inspire courage, equality, and justice. Also, this blog post from the Library of Congress has some excellent resources to explore the history and traditions of Martin Luther King Jr. Day with students.
Lunar New Year: Welcoming the Year of the Snake
Lunar New Year begins on January 29, and a Chinese New Year Celebration will take place at Weston High School on Saturday, January 26. This event is proudly organized and hosted by the Weston Public Schools Mandarin Classes and the Little Helping Hands Club, with invaluable support from the WPS administration, and both current and former WPS families.(See this post for details).
Winter Reads: Recently Added Books & Award Winners
Looking for your next great read? Check out our latest additions to the library collection: Recently Added Books. Browse online or visit the library to find a cozy, winter read. January is also awards month! Every year the American Library Association (ALA) announces the top books, digital media, video, and audiobooks for children and young adults—including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery, and Printz awards. A complete list of the 2024 award winners can be found here. We also have many award-winners on display in the library this month.
Thank you for supporting our library initiatives! We’re looking forward to a fantastic year filled with reading, creativity, and community engagement.
Mrs. Barry & Ms. Lockwell
The holiday season is upon us, and the library is busy with exciting activities for everyone! Whether you're looking to challenge yourself, share your love for books, or cozy up with a new book, we have something for you this month.
December Challenge: Join the Fun!
Students and faculty, are you ready for a little friendly competition? Participate in our December Challenge and earn prizes along the way! Here's how it works:
- For each completed activity, you’ll earn 1 raffle entry.
- Complete a Bingo and receive a piece of candy.
- Fill the entire Bingo board to earn a coveted "Friend of the Library" button!
Print your own challenge board or pick one up from the library.
All participants will be celebrated at our Hot Chocolate Party on Friday, 12/20 during the lunch block. Don’t miss this chance to mingle, enjoy some hot cocoa, and find out who takes home the raffle prizes—a bookish mug and a Weston blanket.
Book Recommendations: Share Your Favorites!
Write a review of your favorite book and see it proudly displayed in the library.
- Submit your review through this Google Form or stop by the library to fill one out in person. Your recommendations could inspire someone else to pick up their next great read—and bonus—it's also a part of the December challenge!
Warm Up with a Book
Baby, it’s cold outside—but the library is the perfect place to stay warm and cozy! This month, we’re featuring collections guaranteed to brighten your winter days:
- Nostalgic Reads: Take a trip down memory lane.
- Book to Screen: Discover (or rediscover) the stories behind your favorite movies and shows.
- New Arrivals: We have plenty of fresh titles just waiting for you to curl up with.
Browse the shelves or the online catalog to find your perfect winter read!
Curl Up with Kindergartners
We’re thrilled to host Curl Up and Read, a special event where our youngest readers meet our senior mentors. On Friday, 12/20 from 8:45–11:15, seniors from Henry Moon and Claire Schomp's classes will team up with kindergarteners for a morning filled with:
- Reading adventures
- Fun crafts
- Camaraderie and smiles!
A huge thank you to the PTO for funding this wonderful event that brings our school community together.
We can’t wait to see you in the library this December. Stay warm, and happy reading!
Mrs. Barry & Ms. Lockwell
Hello from the library! With the second quarter comes a few updates to digital resources and a brand new computer cart!
Digital Resources: Expanded Access to Gale Databases
We're excited to announce that WHS now has more tailored access to digital resources. Based on last year’s usage data, we’ve recently subscribed to four of our most widely-used Gale databases: Opposing Viewpoints, Global Issues, World History, and Biography. These resources offer a wealth of information across topics essential for independent research and class assignments.
- Accessing from home: Use the password wildcats.
- Accessing at school: Head over to our databases page on the WHS Library website. Students and staff can access these databases, and many more, without needing to log in.
Please note, there are resources on this page that may require signing in with a public library card as some databases are provided by the Massachusetts Library System (MLS) or through the Weston Public Library.
New Chromebooks Are Here!
The library is home to a brand-new Chromebook cart! Our latest addition, named Maui (as part of our district’s new tradition of naming all carts after islands), is ready to serve whole-class needs for testing.
Signing Up: Faculty can book the cart via the "HS Library: Teacher Sign Up" Google Calendar.
- This cart is specifically for classroom use; we will not be using it as a loaner cart. Keeping the devices together ensures everyone gets the full benefit of these resources when needed.
- If you have any questions or if you need technical support with LinkIt, please send an email to: helpdesk@weston.org.
Native American Heritage Month
November is Native American Heritage Month—a time to celebrate the traditions, languages, and stories of Native American, Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian, and affiliated Island communities. By highlighting Indigenous reads in our library, we aim to bring greater awareness to these communities' rich histories, unique values, and cultural contributions.
To honor the month:
- Visit our display in the library, or explore the collection in our online catalog.
- Everyone who checks out an Indigenous read this month is eligible to enter our raffle.
- Winners will be announced at the end of November, just before Thanksgiving!
Stay tuned for more updates, and as always, feel free to reach out to the library team with any questions. Thanks for reading!
Mrs. Barry & Ms. Lockwell
Welcome back to the library! Now that we are halfway through the first quarter, we wanted to make you aware of what’s happening in the WHS library and of the following resources and services that are available.
Public Library Cards:
Does your student need their own public library card? Yes! Having one will allow them to access many online resources such as databases, Libby, Hoopla, and more! A physical card will also allow them to check out books or request books through interlibrary loan. Sign up online here, or visit the Weston Public Library. Any MA resident can also sign up for a Boston Public Library card.
What Resources does your student have access to?
- Two highly-trained and helpful professionals
- Loaner computers & chargers
- printers
- Textbooks (because who wants to carry those heavy books around?)
- Online resources:
- databases and newspapers
- Everyone on campus has free access to the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal, provided by the library. Access the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal here!
- Books for pleasure and research
- Games—chess has been a big hit so far!
- The craft corner—this month is origami
New books and collections
Looking for a book to read? You can browse new books and collections in person or online. In September we highlighted the Right to Read and Dark Academia. This month we will be featuring:
Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15-October 15)
Read a book or check out a movie! So many great choices. Thanks for reading, and we look forward to seeing you in the library!
Mrs. Barry & Ms. Lockwell
05/07/2024
Jennifer Barry
No Subjects
Welcome to May. Your library is right beside you to help you through to the end of the year. Seniors, please return the chargers, computers and books you've borrowed so you are clear to start your internships. We will miss you!
Looking for a book to read?
We love a lot of things, but new books are special! Browse them in person or online (below), including James by Percival Everett (a reimagining of Huckleberry Finn from Jim's perspective) and The Do Over by Lynn Painter, a favorite romance author.
Book lists on other topics
- Get Out! Nature Guides
- Yes, My Queen
- Inspired by Shakespeare
- Read and Laugh
- Always in Style: Fashion
- Queer History and Literature
Find more books on the library's New Books Guide
AAPI Heritage Month
Celebrate AAPI Heritage Month by reading a book or watching a movie. So many great choices!
- Films for Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month on Kanopy
- (user: weston; password: wildcats; then make your own account with Google)
- Books for AAPI Heritage month on display in the library
New craft: Pony bead bracelets
Take a break to make a bracelet like the one pictured at the top of the page for yourself or someone else. Instructions and materials are at the back of the library at the craft table.
Free online newspapers from your library
Everyone on campus has free access to the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal, provided by the library. For sign on information, please see
See you in the library!
Mrs. Hanson and Ms. Lockwell
Summer Reading High School 2025 by Weston School Libraries (HS/MS)