Weston LibGuides: Weston High School Library: Databases

Why Databases?

Online databases are research tools that give you access to reliable, published sources like newspapers, magazines, academic journals, and reference materials—all in one place.
Unlike most websites, databases are curated and maintained by publishers, and the sources they include are also published and reviewed. That means you're getting trustworthy information from two levels of credible sources. You can access these databases through the library website because our school subscribes to them.

DATABASES

Trustworthy: definitely - because a publisher is taking responsibility.

Relevant: Maybe - depending on your topic - try different keywords to see.

Accessible: Maybe - many different reading levels are offered.

Current: Probably - even if an article has been published, it can be updated because it's an online source.

WHS Gale Resource Hub
more... less...

This page is your launch pad to all Gale databases available through Weston High School. Find reliable, academic sources—newspapers, journals, reference books, and more—all in one place.

Boston Globe From the Boston Public Library: Up-to-the-moment access to Globe.com with no limit on the number of articles viewed. Access will be available for 3 days (72 hours) at a time. A limited number of passes may be issued each day.
This resource requires you to have a BPL card and create a free, temporary account.
New York Times website (on campus only) Available on campus only. No password needed.
This is the online version of the New York Times with all of the photos, videos, audio.
New York Times Archive
New York Times Chinese edition (on campus only)
Wall Street Journal user: wsj@weston.org pass: wildcats#1
Wall Street Journal Chinese edition user: wsj@weston.org password: wildcats#1

Britannica (MS) password: wildcats
Britannica School user: Weston/Minuteman library card | pass: your library password
Resource provided by the Weston Public Library. Authoritative entries help you understand the scope of your topic and generate keywords. Choose your reading level. Translation available.

High School Edition: Gale OneFile Most resources will require you to enter your Minuteman library card number for access outside the library. Resource provided by MBLC and MLS, with support from IMLS
A collection of magazine and journal articles suitable for high school curriculum.
JSTOR sign up for ecard at Boston Public Library website for access
Papers published in academic journals on tightly focused topics. Access is through Boston Public Library. Apply for an ecard below.
JSTOR ecard application Apply for your BPL ecard here to access JSTOR.
Massachusetts Libraries Databases
Thousands of articles from encyclopedias, academic books, and other reliable research and reference sources – plus newspapers, magazines, and journals – are available to every Massachusetts resident free of charge.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context – High School) pass: wildcats
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Scholastic Go! user: westonhigh pass: grolier

Gale Environmental Studies password: wildcats
Gale Health and Medicine password: wildcats
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Most resources will require you to enter your Minuteman library card number for access outside the library. Resource provided by MBLC and MLS, with support from IMLS
Journal and magazine articles, including content from popular sports magazines and coverage of physical fitness and outdoor recreation.
ProQuest
A definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.

Statewide databases are provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners. Funded by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Science (Gale OneFile) password: wildcats
Science In Context provides topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations, as well as articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites.
Today's Science user: westonmiddle pass:wildcats

American Indian History username: westonhs password: wildcats
Info about more than 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of American Indian culture and history.
Ancient and Medieval History username: westonhs password: wildcats
Focuses on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, Asia, and Islamic Empire from prehistory through the 1500s.
Biography (Gale in Context) pass: wildcats
Over 500,000 brief, authoritative biographies.
Country Reports user: westonmiddle password: wildcats
Culture Grams user: westonmiddle pass: wildcats
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context – High School) pass: wildcats
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
World History (Gale In Context) pass: wildcats
A broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents that cover the events, movements, and individuals that have shaped world history.

Gale eBooks password: wildcats
Infobase eBooks user: westonhs password: wildcats
5,000 ebooks suited for research in all subjects. Especially good for US History, Government and English.
Literary Index
Gale Literary Index provides quick and easy access to author and title listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers.
Literature Criticism password: wildcats
Articles from academic journals about authors and their works.

Business Gale Onefile Most resources will require you to enter your Minuteman library card number for access outside the library. Resource provided by MBLC and MLS, with support from IMLS
This collection contains articles on accounting, marketing and management, and related fields.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) password: wildcats
Excellent place to start researching world history papers with current events themes.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) password: wildcats
Psychology (Gale OneFile) Most resources will require you to enter your Minuteman library card number for access outside the library. Resource provided by MBLC and MLS, with support from IMLS
Find articles on personality, the human mind, memory, and more. Access hundreds of subject-appropriate full-text periodicals - many cited in the PsycINFO index.

Kanopy user: weston password: wildcats. Once you're signed in you can create an individual account to save lists.
Full length videos, documentaries and instructional videos.
MediaCast your Weston network user/password combo
All the videos in our catalog, plus thousands of short videos from NBC Learning
Swank K-12 Streaming (Teachers only)
Contact your librarian for sign in and use info