WHS Library Blog

Have you heard of Libby, the public library ebook app?  SORA is from the same company, designed for schools. It works really well on all different kinds of devices and everyone at WHS (including YOU!)  has an account.

1. Download the SORA app to your mobile device to get access to thousands of free e and audiobooks.
2. After you download SORA, join SYNC, a free audiobook program for teens that gives you two free audiobooks every week through July.  The books are stored on the SORA app.

For instructions and links, check this libguide:

If you'd rather get help from a real live person, please stop by the school library and Mrs. Hanson will be delighted to help. 

 

Did you get your free one year subscription to The Athletic and New York Times Games yet? Please stop by the school library and we will get you set up. 

Did you know that the library has resources for ELE students, like databases in multiple reading levels with translation embedded? We made a libguide about about these resources for students, teachers and parents, linked below. We look forward to helping you find the resources you need.

• ELE Library Resources Guide

Black History Month

February is Black History Month, and your library has books and videos celebrating Black History through art, film, politics, activism, literature and more. Visit the Black History Month display in the library or browse it online and reserve books for pick up.

• Black History Month Collection

Databases

Databases are an important academic resource. Educational institutions buy these collections of edited articles, videos, images and ebooks are purchased for academic use. For most research you use a mix of free resources you find online and databases.

Googling and using databases require the same amount of work. When you Google, you jump right on Google and get a million results (sometimes too many) and you pick and choose the best you can. Finally, you evaluate the source to create a citation. With databases, the work is frontloaded: you have to start on the library website, choose a database and sometimes use a password. Once you're in the database, you have fewer results to choose from, you're confident the source is reliable, and the database creates a citation for you. 

Popular WHS databases include World History, Global Issues, Science, The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal. We invite you to browse the databases on the library website by choosing the "Databases" tab. (Passwords, if needed, pop up when you scroll over the "i" in the black circle next to the database name.)

What do you think about using library databases? Please take this survey to help us serve you better. 

• Database survey

New Books

Find a great book in our new books and themed collections guide.

• New Books Guide

Have a great break!