WHS Library Blog

Have you heard of Libby, the public library ebook app?  SORA is from the same company, designed for schools. It works really well on all different kinds of devices and everyone at WHS (including YOU!)  has an account.

1. Download the SORA app to your mobile device to get access to thousands of free e and audiobooks.
2. After you download SORA, join SYNC, a free audiobook program for teens that gives you two free audiobooks every week through July.  The books are stored on the SORA app.

For instructions and links, check this libguide:

If you'd rather get help from a real live person, please stop by the school library and Mrs. Hanson will be delighted to help. 

 

Did you get your free one year subscription to The Athletic and New York Times Games yet? Please stop by the school library and we will get you set up. 

New: World Language book collection
Read books in different languages to develop your language skills, cultural understandings and family connections.  The books are all by native authors--no  translations from English. The books range from picture books to classic literature for adults. We have fiction, nonfiction and poetry. There is something for every language level.  

Reading suggestions:

• Read a picture book to your family to develop your speaking skills.  
• Read a picture book to yourself to develop your beginning reading skills 
• Advanced language speakers: challenge yourself with a novel or classic text
• Share a book with your parents: ask them to read it aloud to the family to develop your listening skills

Click on the links below to browse the collection now and come to the library to choose books in person.

• Arabic books
• Chinese books 
• Korean books

Coming soon:

• French books 
• Latin books 
• Spanish books 

Do you want another language in the collection? Please let us know. (We will buy Portuguese books next.) 

The Top Ten (most popular books checked out from the library this year)

1. Circe by Madeline Miller
2. It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover
3. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
4. November 9 by Colleen Hoover
5. Verity by Colleen Hoover
6. Crying in H Mart by Michelle Zauner
7. Heartstopper Vol. 1 by Alice Oseman
8. Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owen
9. Stamped: Racism, Antiracism and You by Ibram X. Kendi
10. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Reading suggestions
Looking for something to read? Come to the library to browse and borrow. If you want to browse recommendations now, please use the links below. Many of these books are on display in the library so please come browse and borrow in person!

New Books

• New Manga
• New Graphic Novels
• New Fiction
• New Nonfiction

Collections on a theme

• Black History Month
• Arabs around the World
• Korea, Koreans and Korean Americans
• Mysteries
• Emoji Reads
• Nutrition
• Women’s History Month    
• Really Good Nonfiction
• Classic Fiction

Get all the (free) library cards!
Did you know that

• all students and employees at Weston Public Schools can get a Weston Public Library card? 
• every Massachusetts resident can get a Boston Public Library ecard?

With these cards you can borrow thousands of print books (from Weston), ebooks, audiobooks, databases and streaming videos (from Weston and Boston). Don’t buy this stuff, borrow it! Take all the money you save and go out to dinner. 

Check the guide below to get those library cards!

• How to get Boston and Weston Public Library cards

Thanks for reading and we look forward to seeing you in the library soon. 

Mrs. Hanson, Librarian
hansona@weston.org

Mrs. Azez, Paraprofessional
azezc@weston.org

The library has new books and crafts to get you through the long dark days of winter. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Chinese books
Your library is expanding the World Languages collection starting with books in Chinese. These new books are for native speakers as well as Chinese language learners. Come to the library and browse the display in the middle of the library. You can also browse them online. Read a Chinese book!
Books in Chinese

Newspapers online
Did you know we offer on campus access to The New York Times website as well as on and off campus access to The Wall Street Journal? You don't need a password--access is location based. Get more information about news databases on the library website. 
A-Z Database list

New Books
We have lots of new books for you to browse in the library and online, below.
New Books Guide

Fuse Bead Craft
Relax with a craft you loved to do when you were a kid--FUSE BEADS!  Supplies are in the back of the library. 

Mrs. Azez and Mrs. Hanson

Library website

Art by Reina Wang

Most AP courses assign required summer work for which students are responsible on the first day of class. Students who move into AP classes over the summer (including the end of the summer) are responsible for this work, too. To start next year comfortably, please complete assignment/s by Tuesday, 8/30/22. Many of these assignments will take some time so please look at them right away so you can plan ahead.  

For the actual assignments, please see the Summer AP Assignments guide on the library website. It is linked on the home page. For your convenience we share the guide with you here:

Required Summer AP Assignments 2022