Weston LibGuides: Under the Feet of Jesus inquiry project: Gather

Under the Feet of Jesus Inquiry Project

Gather

Gather important information
Go broad: find a range of sources that are useful in understanding your inquiry question
Go deep: decide which sources are the most useful to you

Gather Guidelines

Social Media

Search for keywords and hashtags on any social media that you frequent.

Keyword suggestion: "migrant and seasonal farmworkers"

Snapchat
Instagram
Twitter
Facebook
Discord
Reddit
Twitch

etc.

Scholarly databases

SSOAR: Social Science Open Access Repository
SSRN: Social Science Repository Network
It looks like you need to make an account but you don't. Just search and download PDFs.

This is Google Scholar. If you want an article that doesn't have a PDF attached, please let Mrs. Hanson know and she'll get it for you.

Suggested Databases

Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window password: wildcats
Excellent place to start researching world history papers with current events themes.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window pass: wildcats
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window password: wildcats
The grandaddy of academic databases. Use this once you have narrowed down your topic a bit to find articles from newspapers, magazines, video, podcasts and academic journals dated 1980-present.
High School Edition (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window password: wildcats
A collection of magazine and journal articles suitable for high school curriculum.

Pro tip: To save a link to a Gale database article, use the "Cite" button to save the citation. It contains the permanent article link. The URL in the address bar expires after a few days.

Suggested Newspapers

News (Gale OneFile)
wildcats
New York Times Article Archive This link opens in a new window pass: wildcats
Full text articles from 1980-present. This doesn't include photos, video and audio from online edition. For that, go to NYT digital edition.
Boston Globe Article Archive This link opens in a new window password: wildcats
Full text from 1980-present

Pro tip: To save a link to a Gale database article, use the "Cite" button to save the citation. It contains the permanent article link. The URL in the address bar expires after a few days.

Suggested eBooks

Gale eBooks password: learn
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window user: westonhs password: wildcats
5,000 ebooks suited for research in all subjects. Especially good for US History, Government and English.